Back to news

Metung: 19th Annual Metung Etchells Regatta

8 February 2010 Jeff Rose

Who let the downhaul off ? Fast, furious racing in Metung Regatta.

"Who let the downhaul off ? Fast, furious racing in Metung Regatta. "

Photo by:

Metung Yacht Club on the East Gippsland Lakes again held the traditional Terry White Chemists Gippsland Lakes Etchells regatta.

Last year the regatta enjoyed a 32-boat fleet with the lead up to the World Championships and was also combined with the Victorian Championships, John Bertrand taking out that event.

This year, with the regatta being only two weeks after the National Championships, was down to 14 boats, but as usual in the Etchells fleet, the racing was very close. So close in fact The Boat and Legless, both of whom won two races each, did not finish in the top three. Added to this, not only was first and second required to be decided on a count back, but also fourth and fifth respectively. In the seven races sailed, five different boats won heats. Third and fourth was decided on a protest.

Both Kirwin Robb (Pedro), who prevailed on a count back from Dave Lawrence (Temptress), did not win a heat. Jeff Rose's Fair Bump Play On finished third with one win.

The regatta opened with a stiff south-east breeze starting at about 15 knots and steadily building to 22 knots by the afternoon. Jake Gunther (The Boa) got off to a great start with two wins from two races and looked like to crew to catch. Pedro also got off to a consistent start with two seconds.

On day two the fleet saw a light south easterly breezes with three races completed. Graham Alexander and his crew from Mornington (Smile and Wave) gave the fleet a sailing lesson and easily winning race three. Local Metung resident Jeff Rose won race four and just to add to the long list of winners, Bruce McBriar from Royal Brighton Yacht Club, won race five.

On the final day races six and seven where sailed in a light southerly breeze of about 10 knots. Stephen Peel/ Graham Aldersea (Legless) won race six and then proceeded to embarrass the rest of the fleet with a two minute win in race seven.

Next year is the 20th anniversary regatta and will be something special. Plans are already being made to celebrate this milestone.

Final Results
1. Pedro - Kirwin Robb - Royal Brighton Yacht Club
2. Temptress - Dave Lawrence - Blairgowrie Yacht Club
3. Fair Bump Play On - Jeff Rose - Metung Yacht Club



Have you received the newsletter via email?

The eNews is sent to all Association members. If you've missed out on it, send your current email address to Kylie Wilson, the webmaster.

Publication Schedule - Submit a Story

Would you like to submit a story, or know when to expect your next eNewsletter?

Submission Due Dates:
1 July 2018
1 October 2018
1 December 2018
1 February 2019

Stories & questions to John Curnow.